Side hustle profits in Canada are what remains after the costs of the work and after the amounts you owe the CRA. What you do with that remainder is a rules question: a tax-free savings account, a registered retirement savings plan, a first home savings account, or a debt payment. This guide explains how those rules differ. It does not tell you which one fits your life, and it does not recommend an account, a fund, or a lender.
The filing-season version, including the first-60-days RRSP window, is RRSP-season tips for side hustle money. How large the tax holdback is belongs in how much tax to set aside. Keeping the payout out of the grocery account is separating business and personal money.
What should you set aside before you invest side hustle profits in Canada?
Set aside income tax, Canada Pension Plan contributions, instalments if they apply, and GST/HST you collected. What is left after that is the amount these accounts and debts are about. Self-employed people pay both shares of the Canada Pension Plan contribution on pensionable self-employment earnings. An RRSP or FHSA deduction can change income tax. It does not, by itself, erase the CPP contribution calculated on the business net. The seasonal guide states that distinction with the year’s figures.
If your net tax owing is more than $3,000 ($1,800 in Quebec) in the current year and either of the two previous years, you may have to pay quarterly instalments. The dates and the three calculation options are in CRA tax instalments for side hustlers. Money sitting in a registered account does not pay an instalment for you.
How do the TFSA, RRSP and FHSA rules differ for side hustle money?
They differ on whether the contribution is deductible, what creates the room, and what happens when the money comes out. Dollar limits below are the CRA’s published ceilings. Your personal room is on your notice of assessment or in your CRA account. Confirm it before you contribute.
| Rule | TFSA | RRSP | FHSA |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 dollar ceiling this guide is citing | $7,000 annual dollar limit | $33,810 RRSP dollar limit | $8,000 participation room in the year you open your first FHSA |
| Is the contribution deductible? | No. TFSA contributing | Generally yes, up to your deduction limit | Generally yes. A transfer from an RRSP is not deductible |
| What creates room? | The annual limit, plus withdrawals added back the next year. Not your side-hustle profit | Generally 18% of the previous year’s earned income, up to the dollar limit, plus unused room | The participation-room rules, including an $8,000 first year and a $40,000 lifetime deduction cap |
| A fact side hustlers miss | Room does not depend on earning a profit this year | This year’s self-employment builds next year’s room. It does not, by itself, create room today | You have to be eligible to open one. Profit alone is not eligibility |
Sources: the CRA limits table for the TFSA and RRSP dollar limits (the RRSP dollar limit listed there for 2027 is $35,390; the 2027 TFSA dollar limit was not on that table when the seasonal guide cited it). T4040 describes earned income, including self-employment earnings, as the base for the 18% RRSP calculation. The RRSP deduction-limit page is where unused room and the contribution timing are spelled out. The FHSA overview says a qualifying first home can be saved for tax-free, up to the limits. Participating in your FHSAs says participation room in the year you open your first FHSA is $8,000. The deductions page caps the lifetime FHSA deduction at $40,000 and says RRSP-to-FHSA transfers are not deductible and reduce what you can deduct over your lifetime.
Who can open an FHSA?
The CRA’s opening page says you must be a qualifying individual on the day you open the account. That includes being a resident of Canada, meeting the age conditions on that page (including an upper limit of 71 as of December 31 of the opening year, and a higher contract age in provinces and territories where 19 is the age to enter a contract), and meeting the first-time home buyer test. For opening, that test looks at whether you lived in a qualifying home you owned, or that your spouse or common-law partner owned, as your principal residence in the current calendar year or the previous four. Read the page. A side hustle does not waive it.
When does debt come ahead of a registered account?
Debt comes ahead when you still owe the minimums, and the FCAC’s high-interest strategy is the one that reduces the interest you pay. The Financial Consumer Agency of Canada’s paying back your debt page says to list what you owe, the minimum payment, and the interest rate. It describes two strategies: extra payments on the highest interest rate first, or on the smallest balance first. With either one, you still make the minimum payment on every debt. The highest-rate strategy is the one the page says reduces interest and can get you out of debt sooner. The smallest-balance strategy is about motivation. The page also says a longer schedule can cost more interest, and that missing payments can harm your credit.
This guide does not state a typical credit-card rate. The rate on your statement is the one to list. Contacting the creditor about the rate is an option the FCAC page mentions. It is not a product recommendation.
The CRA’s FHSA deductions page says interest you paid on money borrowed to contribute to an FHSA cannot be deducted. Borrowing to fund a contribution is a different decision from paying a debt you already have. This guide does not walk through a leveraged contribution.
Illustrative example
Teaching sketch with assumed numbers. Not a forecast, a quote, your marginal rate, or your card’s rate.
Suppose $1,000 is left after tax, CPP, and any GST/HST you collected. Suppose a debt charges an assumed 18% a year and the $1,000 would otherwise stay outstanding for a year at that rate, with no compounding in this sketch. Interest the sketch avoids by paying it now: 0.18 × $1,000 = $180. Real loans compound and have minimums. Use the statement.
Suppose instead you have RRSP room and your combined marginal rate is an assumed 30%. An RRSP contribution of $1,000 reduces tax in the sketch by 0.30 × $1,000 = $300. The $300 is a tax reduction, not a return, and a later withdrawal is generally taxable. A TFSA contribution of $1,000 is not deductible, so the sketch’s tax line is $0. An FHSA contribution of $1,000 is deductible if you are allowed to claim it, and the overview describes a qualifying withdrawal for a first home as tax-free within the limits. The $300 figure is the same arithmetic as the RRSP line only when the deduction is available. It is not advice to pick one.
If you do not have RRSP room yet, the $300 line is not available this year. Net self-employment of an assumed $10,000 in 2026 would be 18% × $10,000 = $1,800 of RRSP room for 2027, before the other earned-income adjustments on T4040, and only up to the dollar limit. That room is next year’s, which is why a TFSA or a debt payment can be the rule that actually fits a deposit in October.
What mistakes do side hustlers make with profits in Canada?
They contribute money that was supposed to pay the CRA. They guess room instead of opening the notice of assessment. They treat this year’s profit as this year’s RRSP room. They over-contribute. The RRSP page says amounts more than $2,000 over your deduction limit are generally taxed at 1% per month. The FHSA deductions page says you pay a tax of 1% on the highest excess FHSA amount in the month, for each month until the excess is gone. The TFSA contributing page is where the monthly tax on an excess TFSA amount is calculated. Read it before you add a deposit “to be safe.”
They also borrow to contribute and expect the interest to be deductible on an FHSA. The deductions page says it is not. And they pick an investment inside the account based on a post. This guide stops at the account rules. It does not choose a holding.
Which tax rules apply when you move side hustle profits in Canada?
Report the side hustle on Form T2125. Claim an RRSP deduction or an FHSA deduction only if you have the room and, for the FHSA, you file Schedule 15 as the deductions page describes. A TFSA contribution is not a line that lowers taxable income. Withdrawing from an RRSP is generally taxable. A qualifying FHSA withdrawal follows the FHSA pages, not the RRSP withdrawal rules. The side hustle tax FAQ is the income side. T2125 vs T776 is the form choice if some of the money is rent rather than a service.
This is not tax, legal, or financial advice. Recheck the CRA limits table each year. The TFSA dollar limit and the RRSP dollar limit are indexed. The FHSA’s $8,000 and $40,000 figures are the ones on the pages linked above. Confirm your own room in your CRA account before you move the money.
Which guides sit next to side hustle profits?
The January deadline and the CPP percentage for the year are in RRSP-season side hustle money tips. The holdback is how much tax to set aside. The account split is separating business and personal money. A $1,000 earnings target, which is a different question from what to do with $1,000 you have already kept, is which side hustles can reach $1,000 a month. One-time invite credits from banks and brokerages, with a reminder to check current terms, are in referral bonuses. Dividends as a separate income type, with assumed yields only, are dividend income in Canada.
What are the common questions?
Should I put side hustle profit in a TFSA, an RRSP, or an FHSA?
This guide does not choose for you. TFSA contributions are not deductible. RRSP contributions are deductible if you have room from prior earned income. FHSA contributions are generally deductible if you qualify to open one, and a transfer from an RRSP is not deductible. Set aside tax and CPP first. This is not financial advice.
Does this year's side hustle create RRSP room this year?
Generally it creates room next year. The CRA's T4040 guide counts self-employment earnings in earned income, and the deduction limit is generally 18% of the previous year's earned income, up to the annual dollar limit. Unused room from earlier years is a different balance. Check your notice of assessment.
What are the 2026 limits?
The CRA limits table lists a TFSA dollar limit of $7,000 for 2026 and an RRSP dollar limit of $33,810 for 2026. FHSA participation room is $8,000 in the year you open your first FHSA, and the lifetime deduction cap on the deductions page is $40,000. Your personal room can be lower.
Should I pay debt or contribute?
Pay the CRA first, and make at least the minimum payment on every debt. The FCAC says extra payments on the highest interest rate reduce the interest you pay. This page does not state a typical interest rate. Read your statement. This is not financial advice.
What happens if I contribute too much?
RRSP contributions more than $2,000 over your deduction limit are generally taxed at 1% per month. An excess FHSA amount is taxed at 1% of the highest excess in the month until it is gone. The TFSA contributing page sets out the monthly tax on an excess TFSA contribution. This is not tax advice.
Which sources support this guide?
The rules, rates, and platform requirements in this guide are checked against these primary sources. Retail price ranges are labelled as ranges to verify locally, and they are not quotes.
- MP, DB, RRSP, DPSP, ALDA, TFSA limits, YMPE and the YAMPE — Canada Revenue Agency
- Contributing to a TFSA — Canada Revenue Agency
- How contributions affect your RRSP deduction limit — Canada Revenue Agency
- RRSPs and Other Registered Plans for Retirement (T4040) — Canada Revenue Agency
- First Home Savings Account (FHSA) — Canada Revenue Agency
- Opening your FHSAs — Canada Revenue Agency
- Participating in your FHSAs — Canada Revenue Agency
- Tax deductions for FHSA contributions — Canada Revenue Agency
- Paying back your debt — Financial Consumer Agency of Canada
- Required tax instalments for individuals — Canada Revenue Agency
- Contributions to the Canada Pension Plan — Government of Canada
