The first week of rideshare driving in Canada is often a paperwork week: the city’s vehicle rules, an insurer who knows you will carry passengers, and a screening or licence that may still be pending on day 14. Rideshare driving means passenger trips arranged through an app, in a car that already qualifies, for people who can keep that car clean and can stop when the roads or the hour do not work.
A fare on a forum is not a plan for Friday. If the car is older than the city’s limit, the week ends at the checklist. The setup is in how to start rideshare driving in Canada. The budget is in rideshare startup costs.
| Fact | What the first week of rideshare driving in Canada has to clear |
|---|---|
| National UberX floor | 4-door, 10 years or newer, not salvaged or rebuilt, inspected. Uber vehicle requirements |
| GTA example | 7 years or newer in Toronto, Mississauga, Oakville, and Brampton. 21 or older, full G licence, not G1 or G2. Uber by city |
| Toronto licensing example | A Private Transportation Company licence can take up to 20 business days after you pass screening |
| In the car | Driver’s licence, registration, insurance, safety standards certificate, and the decal while online. Uber driver requirements |
| GST/HST | From the first fare for commercial ride-sharing, even under $30,000. CRA taxi and ride-sharing |
Meals without a passenger are food delivery. This page uses Uber’s Canada pages because those pages publish the city checklist. Another passenger app is a separate signup on that company’s own site.
What should you expect from the first week of rideshare driving in Canada?
The first week of rideshare driving in Canada should be treated as activation, not as income. You create a profile, upload documents, book the inspection the city requires, and you stay offline until the app says you may accept a trip. In some cities the licence itself outlasts the fortnight.
Uber’s driver requirements describe three moves: sign up online, share documents and start a screening of your driving record and criminal history, then activate after a vehicle inspection. City bylaw staff may request a ride to inspect the car and the papers. The documents Uber says to keep in the car are your licence, registration, proof of insurance, and a safety standards certificate, plus any required sticker.
Which vehicle and city rules decide whether week one can include a trip?
Uber’s Canada vehicle page sets a national floor, and the city page can be stricter, so a car that qualifies in one municipality can fail the next city over. Read both pages for the city where the car is plated before you pay for an inspection you cannot use.
Uber vehicle requirements in Canada say an UberX vehicle must be a 4-door, 10 years or newer, in good condition with no cosmetic damage, with no commercial or Uber branding, and not salvaged or rebuilt. It must pass an inspection by a licensed mechanic. Uber accepts official or temporary registration and says the vehicle needs to be registered in your name. You must display a removable Uber decal on the rear passenger windshield, facing out, while you are online. Uber says it mails the sticker. A missing or hidden sticker can draw a fine from local authorities, on the regulatory page.
That regulatory page is a city list, not one national rule. The Greater Toronto Area section is an example. To drive in Toronto, Mississauga, Oakville, or Brampton, the vehicle must be 7 years old or newer. Elsewhere in the GTA the page says 10 years or newer. You must be 21 or older with a full G licence or equivalent. G1 and G2 are not accepted. New drivers upload a safety standards certificate within 36 days of passing the inspection. In Toronto and Mississauga, all-weather tires must be on the car from December 1 until April 30. Your name must be visible on the Ontario insurance pink slip. Both sides of the registration are required. The GTA section also says you are not required to own the vehicle, which is a local line you should read next to the national “registered in your name” line and then follow the in-app checklist.
Toronto adds a Private Transportation Company driver’s licence. Uber’s page says that after your documents and background check, Uber submits the PTC application to the City of Toronto, that the licence can take up to 20 business days, and that neither Uber Support nor the City will give you a status update during that wait. The same note says a Toronto PTC licence also lets you receive requests in Mississauga, Oakville, and Brampton. Background screening repeats every calendar year. If your first week is in Toronto, the useful outcome may be a submitted application, not a passenger.
Other Ontario cities on that page have their own inspection clocks. Ottawa, for example, is described as an inspection once a year if the vehicle is 5 years or newer and every 6 months if it is 6 years or older, still with a 10-year age cap and a full G licence. Do not copy Ottawa’s interval onto the Prairies. Open your own city on the same page. British Columbia ride-hailing insurance is an ICBC product, not an Ontario endorsement: start at ICBC ride-hailing insurance and Uber driver insurance in Canada. Quebec licensing runs through the SAAQ. This page does not state a Quebec permit fee.
| UberX national page | GTA cities on Uber’s regulatory page | |
|---|---|---|
| Vehicle age | 10 years or newer | 7 years or newer in Toronto, Mississauga, Oakville, and Brampton; 10 years elsewhere in the GTA |
| Doors | 4 | 4 |
| Extra wait | Inspection, then activation | Toronto PTC licence, up to 20 business days, with no status updates during the wait |
| Winter example | Not on the national vehicle page | All-weather tires, December 1 to April 30, in Toronto and Mississauga |
What should you line up before the first rideshare trip in Canada?
Before the first rideshare trip in Canada, your personal auto insurer needs a straight description of passenger ride-hailing, and the car needs the documents and the decal Uber lists. Uber’s insurance page is not a substitute for that call.
Uber driver insurance in Canada describes commercial coverage through Economical while you are on the app. Your personal policy still has to be in force for personal use. Coverage while you are waiting for a trip can differ by province. Ask what your policy does in each of those periods, and write down the answer. This is not insurance advice. Do not invent a premium from this page.
Clean the car, check the tires against the seasonal line if you are in Toronto or Mississauga, and put the licence, registration, insurance, and safety certificate where you can hand them over. A regulator’s inspection ride is on Uber’s requirements page. A messy trunk is a bad first impression and a bad inspection.
A phone mount TODO-AFFILIATE keeps the trip on the dash instead of in your hand. A dash cam TODO-AFFILIATE is a category search, not a tested brand, and Andrew has not reviewed the camera. It does not replace the insurer conversation. Put fares in an account you will not spend before you have set GST/HST aside. KOHO TODO-AFFILIATE is one Canadian account that can hold that float. The account is not a passenger.
Example note. This is a generic script for the insurer call. It is not a transcript, and it is not a claim that a policy was approved.
I want to carry paying passengers hailed through an app, in this car, in [city]. Please tell me, in writing, whether this policy allows that, what changes if I am waiting for a trip, and what it costs. I have not gone online yet.
You do not need a flyer. The app sends the trip. Emailing strangers to drum up rides is a different business, and a commercial email still has to follow consent rules if you later write to businesses. For this week, the signup is the outreach.
What should you track if you do get a first rideshare shift in Canada?
If a first rideshare shift in Canada actually happens, track minutes online, kilometres, the fare the app shows, tolls or airport fees you paid, and cleaning. Waiting with the app on is part of the hour. A single busy trip hides that wait if you only photograph the fare.
Step 1: Log on and log off
Write the clock time you became available and the time you logged off. Include the gap with no rider.
Step 2: Log the trip, not a feeling
Kilometres, minutes from accept to drop-off, the amount shown, and any cash you were not supposed to take. Stay inside the app’s payment rules.
Step 3: Log the car
Fuel bought that day, a car wash, a ticket. Look up a municipal fine on the city’s page. This guide does not state one.
Example shift log. This blank is not a real driver’s record.
Date and city. Online from __ to . Trips: __ . Kilometres: __ . Fares shown: $ . Tolls or parking: $__ . Notes: wait time, a cleaning stop, weather.
How do you judge whether a first rideshare shift was worth it in Canada?
You judge a first rideshare shift in Canada by fares minus the costs you wrote down, divided by hours online, and you stop if that sketch is too thin before insurance, GST/HST, and wear. You do not set the fare. The platform does. Your lever is when you are online and when you log off.
Illustrative example. Suppose one fare shows $16, the trip takes 25 minutes, and you drive 9 kilometres. Suppose you assume fuel at $0.20 a kilometre. That is an assumption, not a survey and not a CRA rate. Fuel is 9 times $0.20, which is $1.80. The remainder is $14.20 before insurance, a car wash, and tax you may have to remit. If you were online only those 25 minutes, the sketch is about $34 an hour. If you were online two hours for that one trip, the same $14.20 is $7.10 an hour. GST/HST on the fare is not extra profit. Do not copy $16 or $0.20. This is not a typical week.
| What you might do | What week one is for | What it is not |
|---|---|---|
| One short shift after activation | A log with real kilometres | Proof the next month will match |
| Waiting on a Toronto PTC licence | A submitted application | A reason to finance a newer car |
| Driving in the first snowstorm | Only if you would drive that weather with no fare | A test of the app |
What does a 14-day plan for rideshare driving in Canada look like?
A 14-day plan for rideshare driving in Canada should end with a submitted application and a written insurance answer. A passenger is a bonus. A 20-business-day Toronto licence is a published wait, not a sign you did the forms wrong. This plan does not promise trips or a payout.
Days 1 and 2: Read your city
Open Uber’s vehicle page and the regulatory page for your city. If the car fails the age, door, or salvage rules, stop. Call the insurer with the script above. Book the inspection only if the car can pass.
Days 3 to 5: Upload and screen
Submit the licence, insurance, registration, and the profile photo Uber describes: forward-facing, only you, no sunglasses, not a photo of your licence. Start the screening. Put the safety certificate in the folder you will keep in the car.
Days 6 to 9: Wait on the city’s clock
In Toronto, the PTC note says up to 20 business days and no status check. Use the time to fit all-weather tires if the date and the city require them. Do not buy a replacement car while you are waiting. Outside Toronto, follow the inspection line for that city on the same page.
Days 10 to 14: One shift, or still waiting
If the app lets you go online, drive one period you already know, with the decal visible, and fill the log. If you are still waiting, the week’s result is the pending file. Log off in weather you would not drive for free. Register for GST/HST before the first fare, using the CRA page below, so the first deposit is not mixed with tax.
What mistakes show up in the first week of rideshare driving in Canada?
Common first-week mistakes in rideshare driving in Canada are going online before the insurer has answered, hiding a home address problem by skipping the decal, and treating a Toronto wait as a reason to drive anyway. G1 and G2 licences are rejected on Uber’s Ontario city sections. Enthusiasm does not replace the licence class.
A car with cosmetic damage or a rebuilt title fails the vehicle page even if it runs. Copying a 10-year rule into Toronto, Mississauga, Oakville, or Brampton fails the 7-year line. Taking a street-hail the app did not send is a different, and often unlawful, business. Stay with the trips the app assigns.
Which tax rules apply from the first rideshare fare in Canada?
Self-employed rideshare drivers in Canada register for GST/HST and charge it on commercial ride-sharing fares from the day they start, even when they are under the $30,000 small-supplier threshold. The CRA states that on GST/HST for taxi and ride-sharing drivers and in GI-196. Fares are still reported on Form T2125, and self-employed drivers pay the whole Canada Pension Plan contribution on the net.
This is not tax, legal, or insurance advice.
GI-196 says commercial ride-sharing is passenger transportation arranged through an electronic platform. If you are otherwise a small supplier, that mandatory registration can apply only to the ride-sharing fares until your combined taxable supplies pass $30,000. The small-supplier test itself is on the CRA’s when to register page. Nova Scotia’s HST is 14% as of 1 April 2025 on the charge and collect table. Quebec charges GST and QST. Confirm the rate with the GST/HST calculator and set aside what you collect. A T4A does not replace your log.
Refresh vehicle ages, the Toronto PTC timing, winter-tire dates, and tax rates when you next read this page.
Which guides sit next to a first week of rideshare driving in Canada?
The setup is how to start rideshare driving in Canada. A first week of restaurant deliveries, with a different insurance page and no first-fare GST/HST rule, is your first week of food delivery in Canada. Pre-packed parcels are your first week of package courier work in Canada.
What are the common questions?
Will I drive passengers in my first week of rideshare in Canada?
Maybe not. Uber’s Toronto section says a Private Transportation Company licence can take up to 20 business days after screening, and that you should not expect a status update during the wait. Other cities have their own inspection steps. Activation is the goal of the fortnight. A passenger is a bonus.
My car is 9 years old. Can I start UberX in Toronto?
Uber’s regulatory page says Toronto, Mississauga, Oakville, and Brampton require a vehicle 7 years old or newer. The national UberX page says 10 years or newer. A 9-year-old car can fail Toronto even when it meets the national floor. Check the city you will drive in.
Do I register for GST/HST before the first rideshare fare?
Yes, if you are self-employed and provide commercial ride-sharing. The CRA requires registration even under the $30,000 small-supplier threshold, and you charge GST/HST on those fares from the day you start. See the taxi and ride-sharing page and GI-196. This is not tax advice.
Does Uber’s insurance replace mine for rideshare in Canada?
No. Uber’s Canada driver-insurance page describes commercial coverage through Economical while you are on the app, and your personal policy must still be in force. Tell your insurer before you go online. British Columbia is an ICBC question, not an Ontario endorsement. This is not insurance advice.
Should I drive rideshare in the first snowstorm?
Only if you already have the tires the city requires and you would drive that weather with no fare. Uber’s regulatory page says all-weather tires from December 1 to April 30 in Toronto and Mississauga. Log off when the road is past your limit.
Which sources support this guide?
The rules, rates, and platform requirements in this guide are checked against these primary sources. Retail price ranges are labelled as ranges to verify locally, and they are not quotes.
- Uber vehicle requirements in Canada — Uber
- Uber driver requirements in Canada — Uber
- Uber driver requirements by city — Uber
- Uber driver insurance in Canada — Uber
- ICBC ride-hailing insurance — ICBC
- Société de l'assurance automobile du Québec — SAAQ
- GST/HST for taxi and ride-sharing drivers — Canada Revenue Agency
- GST/HST and commercial ride-sharing services (GI-196) — Canada Revenue Agency
- When to register for and start charging the GST/HST — Canada Revenue Agency
- Charge and collect the GST/HST — Canada Revenue Agency
- GST/HST calculator (and rates) — Canada Revenue Agency
- Form T2125, Statement of Business or Professional Activities — Canada Revenue Agency
- Contributions to the Canada Pension Plan — Government of Canada
